mendel penegal
mendel penegal

Mendola mountain ridge

The Mendola mountain ridge is the division line between the Italian-speaking Trentino and the German-speaking area of South Tyrol.

It is considered the borderline between two Italian provinces. The Mendola mountain ridge stretches on a length of 35 km and consists of peaks such as the Roen (2,116 m) and the Penegal with 1,737 m.

The Mendola mountain ridge belongs to the Val di Non mountains, which are anon part of the Southern Limestone Alps. This mountain ridge starts at the Passo delle Palade in the surroundings of Merano and ends at Salorno in the Bassa Atesina. While the forest presents the premises, mixed forests with copper beeches and Scotch pines cover the Passo Mendola. In the Val di Non, the vegetation transitions into larch forests, in other places the mixed forests are replaced by spruce forests. The form of the Mendola mountain ridge dates back to the Ice Age and bears a striking feature. On one side it gently declines towards the Val di Non, while on the other the sharp rock face falls away sharply down into the valleys.

Already in the 15th century the term “Mendola” was mentioned in documents, but its exact significance is still uncertain. There are two variants: on the one hand the term could derive from the Roman term “menda”, which means “undeveloped land, used as pasture-land”. On the other hand in Old High German, “mendi” means delight and pleasure, which could be attached to fertile pasture-land, or maybe also the pleasure of holidays in this area.

The Mendola mountain ridge is by the way a very popular summer resort for inhabitants of the surroundings.

Suggest an edit/correction

Our editorial staff is always committed to ensuring the highest quality and accuracy of the information we publish. If you have suggestions to improve this page you can send them to us using the form below. Thank you in advance!

  1. Passo della Mendola
    mendelbahn bergstation ruffre mendelpass aussichtspunkt

    Passo della Mendola

    The Passo della Mendola is considered an attraction. It is an Italian pass with…
  2. Piccolo Penegal
    PGipfelkreuz kl Penegal

    Piccolo Penegal

    The Piccolo Penegal is one of the peaks of the Mendola mountain ridge and is…
  3. Monte Penegal
    mendel penegal

    Monte Penegal

    The Penegal provides a panoramic view of the Valle dell’Adige and the Dolomites or…
  4. Monte Macaion
    eppan gaid kirche moarhof und gantkofel

    Monte Macaion

    In the very north of the Mendola mountain ridge, the peak of the Monte Macaion…
  5. Monte Ganda
    gandberg gand eppan monte ganda

    Monte Ganda

    The Monte Ganda is above all famous thanks to the ice holes and the homonymous…

Suggested accommodations

Tips and more infos