At the Turmbach residence in Appiano Monte, idyllic peace and quiet can be enjoyed.
Image gallery: Turmbach Residence
Above San Michele, in the district of Appiano Monte and southwest of the main village, once only the medieval residential tower stood, which can still be easily recognised at the house. In 1297, Heinrich vom unteren Turm and his family were first mentioned in a document. Probably he was the builder of the tower.
At the beginning of the 17th century, Christof Payr took over the building. He was the land writer and councillor of Archduke Maximilian III. Christof Payr’s family was ennobled soon afterwards. The name was now “von Payr zu Thurn und Bach”. The next owner of the tower was Lanzelin, after that Anton Walcher received the tower.
The Turmbach residence, more precisely its tower, was built in the 13th century and its shape has not changed since then. The stone-framed high entrance leading to the 3rd floor is still visible today. Until the 19th century the tower was inhabited. Around 1840 a stable was added and years after the complex became a farmstead.
For those who want to combine a visit with a hike: on the hike to Matschatsch or that to the Kematscharte wind gap you will also pass this building.