Castel Palù is located in Appiano Monte, hosts a museum and is an aristocratic building.
Appiano Monte is located in a noble area of Appiano. Castel Palù is situated in the heart of a green area above Castel Gandegg and in the south west of the Gleif church. A narrow road goes past this beautiful building.
The castle complex of Castel Palù and the Schulthaus residence consists of residential houses and farm buildings. Slightly underneath, there is the S. Caterina church, which also makes part of these historical buildings.
Once upon a time it was as follows: already around 1270 a little castle and two residences were located in this place, that was inhabited by various families. In the course of time the large building was integrated into the building of Castel Palù. Palù and Schulthaus have not always belonged together, as once upon a time it was owned by various possessors. In the 14th and 15th century the two buildings were renovated. Later on the gender of the owners of Castel Palù became extinct, by a wedding the entire possession passed into the hands of the owners of the Schulthaus castle. In 158 Walter Amonn from Bolzano purchased the castle and had it renovated.
The renovations and the extensions at the building in the 16th and 17th century are clearly visible, as the murals have not been plastered. The residential tower of the former castle is today integrated into Castel Palù. In the interior there are ceiling paintings as well as a Gothic stube, implements of those days and a room for exhibitions on the first floor.
The S. Caterina chapel dates back to the 14th century and was restored about 300 years after. Around 1880 it was again converted to a residential building. However, around 1988 a room of the castle was converted into its original destination.
A visit of Castel Palù can be perfectly combined with a walk. No matter if you prefer promenading via Pigenò to the Gleif church or walk the mountain road of Maciaccio, almost all roads lead to Castel Moos.